Political Leadership in Jinja

Jinja ‘s political structure is made up 4 levels of Local Councils (LCs) which constitute the political legal organizations established at each level-municipality, division, parish and village. Jinja Municipality (LC IV) is headed by an elected chairperson (the mayor Hon. Baswari Muhammad Kezaala) and has eight standing committees. The Municipality is further divided into three divisions (LC III). Administrative, planning and financial linkages exist between divisions and the main municipality.

Jinja has been undergoing social and political change toward the decentralization of government and greater public participation in local issues and programmes. Considerable power and decision making have been devolved to the grass-roots level.